Ethnomusicology Review, Volume 21 (2017)


           Welcome to Volume 21 of Ethnomusicology Review! We are pleased to offer two articles and one invited paper that, taken together, provide...

Invited Articles

Art by Evan Sanders Winner of the 2017 Lise Waxer NECSEM Prize            During the era of the Black Lives Matter movement, which strives to combat and expose the...


 “Can I Get A Witness”: Musicians Performing Politics in the U.S. Congress[1]  Introduction            To testify is to give a truthful account, to...
            Since the 1970s, there has been a sustained scholarly interest in the musical instrument classification schemes of local communities...

Sounding Board

The following posts appeared on the Sounding Board during the Volume 21 publication year.

Bring the Noise: Popular Music Studies


Historical Perspectives

From the Archives

What's Goin' On: News, Editorials, and Reviews

Notes from the Field

Space Is The Place: Ethnomusicology of Jazz

Crossing Borders

Editorial & Advisory Boards

Otto Stuparitz
Managing Editors

Rosaleen Rhee
Tyler Yamin
Technical Editor
Ming-Ching Chiu
Reviews Editor
Will Matczynski
Associate Editors
Ben Cosgrove
Andrea Decker
Sophie Frankford
Molly Jones
Samuel Lamontagne
Gabriel Lavin
Pablo Infante-Amate
Dean Reynolds
Maureen Russell
Editorial Board

Albert Agha
Lucas Avidan
Blair Black
Kristal Robin Bivona
Kevin Blankenship
Rose Boomsma
David F. Castañeda
Logan Clark
Juan G Francisco Cristobal
Ron Connor

Ben Doleac

León García
Jennie Gubner
Deonte Harris
AJ Kluth
Ryan Koons

Kevin Levine
Brendan Lucas
Alyssa Mathias
Tiffany Naiman
Kristina Nielsen

Verónica Pacheco

Daniel Castro Pantoja
Andrew Pettit

Edwin E. Porras
Larry Robinson

Alex W. Rodriguez
Alexandra Roedder

Mehrenegar Rostami
Alejandro Garcia Sudo
Ty-Juana Taylor
Jessie Vallejo
Vivek Virani

Zachary Wallmark
Nolan Warden

Schuyler Whelden
Sarah Wilbur
Tim Wilkins
Dave Wilson
Wan Yeung
Xiaorong Yuan
Payam Yousefi
Helga Zambrano
Advisory Board Members

Andrew Berish

Tara Browner
Katherine Brucher
Julius Carlson
William Cheng
J. Martin Daughtry
Valerie Dickerson

Chris Goetzen
Jennie Gubner
Travis A. Jackson

Cheryl L. Keyes
Katherine In-Young Lee
Elisabeth Le Guin

Morgan Lucker
Elizabeth Macy
Peter Manuel
Suzel Reily

Fernando Rios
Jonathan Ritter
Jesse D. Ruskin
CedarBough Saeji

Michael B. Silvers

Amy Stillman
Joshua Tucker