Ethnomusicology Review, Volume 20 (2015)

Download Volume (PDF): 


From the Editors,Welcome to Volume 20 of Ethnomusicology Review! This volume includes a featured article and four peer-reviewed works on a wide variety of topics within the field of ethnomusicology....


As we snaked through a neighborhood on the outskirts of Lucknow, I imagined what our course trajectory would look like on Google Maps. Rounding the corner of an impossibly narrow gali, our...
Conceptos preliminares y acotación terminológicaLa particularidad de este artículo, realizado desde el ámbito de la Musicología, pero en el que confluyen aspectos de otras disciplinas, como la...
Rolando, a young cultural promoter for the Veracruz Cultural Institute (IVEC), deplores the fact that the public only sees the annual Afro-Caribbean International Festival as an occasion to enjoy the...
The Orisha religion began in Trinidad sometime in the middle to late-19th century, originating with several thousand indentured laborers (free, not enslaved) from the areas in present-day Nigeria. (...

Featured Articles

"Early music" is the term generally accepted for the study and presentation of pre-modern and early modern European musics, with special attention to period performance practices including...

Sounding Board

The following posts appeared on the Sounding Board during the Volume 20 publication year.

Notes from the Field

Essays on Jazz

Historical Perspectives in Ethnomusicology

From the Archives


Special Issue - After Pulse: Reflections on Music Scholarship in the Wake of the 2016 Orlando Nightclub Massacre

Editorial & Advisory Boards


Rose Boomsma

Managing Editors

Schuyler Whelden
John Widman

Technical Editor

Mike D'Errico

Reviews Editor

Mehrenegar Rostami

Associate Editors

Ben Cosgrove
Kristina Nielsen
Dean Reynolds
Rosaleen Rhee
Otto Stuparitz

Editorial Board

Albert Agha
F. Sevi Bayraktar
Natalia Bieletto

Kristal Robin Bivona
Kevin Blankenship
Rose Boomsma
Logan Clark
Ron Connor

Benjamin Court

Ben Doleac

León García
Jennie Gubner
Deonte Harris
Alexandro Hernandez

Michael Iyanaga
Rehanna Kheshgi
AJ Kluth
Ryan Koons

Kevin Levine
Rebecca Lippman
Brendan Lucas
Alyssa Mathias
Tiffany Naiman
Kristina Nielsen

Verónica Pacheco

Daniel Castro Pantoja
Andrew Pettit

Larry Robinson

Alexandra Roedder

Mehrenegar Rostami
Katie Stuffelbeam

Alejandro Garcia Sudo
Ty-Juana Taylor
Jessie Vallejo
Vivek Virani

Zachary Wallmark
Nolan Warden

Sarah Wilbur
Tim Wilkins
Dave Wilson
Helga Zambrano

Advisory Board Members

Andrew Berish

Tara Browner
Katherine Brucher
Julius Carlson
William Cheng
J. Martin Daughtry
Valerie Dickerson

Chris Goetzen
Jennie Gubner
Travis A. Jackson

Elisabeth Le Guin

Morgan Lucker
Elizabeth Macy
Peter Manuel
Suzel Reily

Fernando Rios
Jonathan Ritter
Jesse D. Ruskin
CedarBough Saeji

Michael B. Silvers

Amy Stillman
Joshua Tucker